Coffee Forums banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Premium Member
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I recently purchased a second-hand Quickmill Andreja from someone off eBay which was in working order and seemed fine on the surface of things, however I wanted to take it back to zero so to speak and dismantle and clean everything so I knew all was in good condition. I'm extremely glad I did as so far I've found some pretty messy and dangerous things, and thought I'd share a run through with everyone so anyone wanting to attempt the same thing is pre-armed with more info than I had (virtually none!).

Just to clarify, I have zero experience taking coffee machines apart. I'd say I'm somewhat technical and curious, which is always helpful! I'd say so far (I've not finished yet) the process of taking everything apart has taken about 4 hours, cleaning it has taken probably 2 or 3, and I'm sure putting it back together will take 3 or so. I'll detail everything I used and bought as I go. So, here goes...

I got the Andreja and a Mazzer Mini E for £800. In retrospect I should have paid less - probably £650 or £700 would have seemed better considering the time I need to spend on Andreja. The Mazzer is totally fine, just needed a clear of the burrs (and they were pretty fine anyway), but the Andreja isn't in the best of states. The guy I bought them from was a nice chap, but unfortunately I was pretty naive when purchasing - I didn't remove the e61 mushroom (which I knew I should, I just didn't feel I could as I didn't know how hard it would be to do so I skipped doing it) and I didn't open the machine to look inside. Both of these would have helped a lot, though in fairness I'm not sure it's normal to dismantle a coffee machine you are about to purchase! Here is what they looked like when I got them home, nice!

2017_02_27_22_18_28.jpg